Jump to content

An easy (?) rules question


Recommended Posts

43 minutes ago, Wavedancer II said:

Prior to the start, boat commits a foul and wants to make amends (do a turn). But then there's a general recall. Does the skipper still have to do a turn in the next sequence?

Quote

36 RACES RESTARTED OR RESAILED
If a race is restarted or resailed, a breach of a rule in the original race,
or in any previous restart or resail of that race, shall not (a) prohibit a boat from competing unless she has broken rule
30.4; or (b) cause a boat to be penalized except under rule 30.2, 30.4 or 69
or under rule 14 when she has caused injury or serious damage.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

The fundamental rule says "shall take a penalty" so if the penalty isn't taken by the time of the recall then it seems reasonable it needs to be taken after the next sequence starts.

Link to post
Share on other sites

 

1 hour ago, JimC said:

The fundamental rule says "shall take a penalty" so if the penalty isn't taken by the time of the recall then it seems reasonable it needs to be taken after the next sequence starts.

Not really - the rule about taking a turns penalty actually says "may take" a penalty (emphasis mine.)  There's no requirement to do turns, a boat is well within its rights to decide instead to argue that it committed no foul.

Boats are no longer racing after a general recall is sounded, therefore it's an entirely new race and nothing carries over except a few listed exceptions.  JohnMB cited the rule that applies.....I've cut out part (a) for clarity:

Quote

36 RACES RESTARTED OR RESAILED
If a race is restarted or resailed, a breach of a rule in the original race, or in any previous restart or resail of that race, shall not cause a boat to be penalized except under rule 30.2, 30.4 or 69 or under rule 14 when she has caused injury or serious damage.

Assuming this is just a garden-variety type of foul with no damage, no turns would be necessary in the restart.  Basically, a general recall wipes the slate clean (minus the listed exceptions - i.e. rule 30 starting flag penalties, being an unsportsmanlike dick, or breaking things.)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...