web based crew/boat management systems

Teddy

Compete-At tells us they are discontinuing SailTeam which we used last year and are using this year. Anybody have any experience with other crew/boat management systems? We have until the end of Jully to switch to another system or go back to Excel sheets.

Ted

Compete-At tells us they are discontinuing SailTeam which we used last year and are using this year. Anybody have any experience with other crew/boat management systems? We have until the end of Jully to switch to another system or go back to Excel sheets.

Ted

We have a crew member working on a solution - will keep you posted.....

I work in the music business doing large events and concerts and we use an web based tool called Basecamp. You pay a subscription fee and are able to do the following: Track conversations and send messages to your team, upload files (with the option to upload new versions), assign milestones and to do lists to certain people on your team, collaborate and write with people using what they call a write board (it's a doc that others can update if you give them permission), have multiple projects going at one time and a lot more.

I highly suggest looking into a free trial of Basecamp. Their fees can be as low as $20 per month I think.

As far as a website goes, google sites suck. Why don't you open up a wordpress blog and get a custom URL? I moved over the Route Halifax Saint Pierre Ocean Race site to a worpress blog from custom and it only took me 3 hours. www.routehsp.com (custom URL is just redirected at this point).

Another cool piece is Blogger. You can do custom URLs there too but the best part is you can email in updates from the race course. Just assign an update email when you set up your blogger account. With blogger there is very limited custom design.

Thx guys. I'll take a look at those. One of our crew suggested

http://www.crewsignup.com/