Advice please for Yanmar Newb

Quickstep192

Anarchist
Chesapeake
I’m going to start a new to me Yanmar sail drive for the first time. I’m slightly embarrassed to admit I’ve never done this before and I’m looking for any advice for things to do or not do. 

I’m assuming that I don’t need glow in the summer. The directions make a reference to not over cranking. 

Anything else to look out for? Is it otherwise just like starting a car?

Any wisdom is appreciated. 

ropetrick

Super Anarchist
Starting is usually simple. 3/4 throttle, in neutral, and crank away.

But when you are done, pull the kill knob, wait for the engine to stop and buzz at you.

Then, and only then, turn the key to off. Otherwise you might need a new alternator.

Bump-n-Grind

Get off my lawn.
Chesapeake Bay/Vail
the "no over cranking" is so that you don't burn up your starter motor. 

make sure your battery is fully charge and up to the task. 

Make sure you have fuel and not water in your fuel separator!

just out of curiosity, which engine is it?

Quickstep192

Anarchist
Chesapeake
Thanks for the sage advice guys. The motor is a 2YM15

BTW, the excessive cranking warning had something to do with the water lift muffler. 

DougH

Always check the engine oil level and top it off before starting, i.e., don't wait for it to show a quart low. Keep the oil at the full mark.

After starting always check that the sea water pump is functioning by looking for water being expelled out the exhaust.

When shifting the gearbox, only do so with the engine at minimum RPM (idle).

Last edited by a moderator:

Blue Crab

benthivore
Outer Banks
Fleetwood said:
Yes, if you overcrank you may fill the waterlift muffler, then the cylinders......