blasting tunes while racing

so i like music. i reckon other folks do as well. i'm currently an engineering student and could figure a way to integrate a digital compass (i.e. tacktick) with an mp3 player. do any of you think that would be wrong to race with? I mean, is it cool to be playing music while racing, or would it be silly

k_kirk

There are some cheap waterproof mp3 players that you could get for lot less effort. Just make sure you can still hear that poor sod yelling "Starboard" at you as you're about to t-bone him...

TeamFugu

Super Anarchist
SLC, UT
If it works for you, go for it. I love music too but I sail by the seat of my pants and by the sound the boat makes. Loud music would make that dificult. I'd find it distracting especially if I started singing along instead of watching what I was doing. Cruising with music is a very good idea but I'd rather not race with it blasting. Better yet, get a water proof MP3 player, earbuds, and tuck it into your wetsuit. That way you can keep it all to yourself. Play what you like as loud as your inner ear can stand and no one gets pissed.

Kelp

Super Anarchist
For facks sake lad, can't you unplug for a little while?

If you can't have fun sailing a dinghy without tunes, maybe you should stay home a play computer games

When the other boats sail higher and faster could it be they are paying better attention to the boat, wind, waves, competition ?

Do what you want but you better not get in a collision on the race course

coyote

For facks sake lad, can't you unplug for a little while?
If you can't have fun sailing a dinghy without tunes, maybe you should stay home a play computer games

When the other boats sail higher and faster could it be they are paying better attention to the boat, wind, waves, competition ?

Do what you want but you better not get in a collision on the race course

Thank You, Kelp

MT14er

MT