Boat for Atlantic Circuit/Circumnav

Dino

Anarchist
Ireland
Hi,

In the next year to 18 months my situation is likely to change considerably and I am considering heading off cruising. Initially I am interested in doing an Atlantic Circuit - Ireland/UK to Northern Spain - Portugal - Canary Islands and the ARC to St Lucia in November. After that I'd like to spend 6 months cruising the Caribbean. Then I'll either head up the east coast of the US and back across the Atlantic or I might head for the pacific. After the Caribbean the plan is very loose and flexible.

I am thinking of taking 12 to 24 months of a sabbatical from work and I will have enough cash to keep myself and run the boat as long as I don't party or live in marinas too much. I have fairly extensive boat experience as I have spent all my life sailing & boating and working on boats. I have a lot of racing experience both inshore and offshore but all as crew. I have fairly limited cruising experience apart from delivery trips and a few weeks cruising.

I've done a lot of internet searching looking at boats and I reckon I would need a boat around 40ft. Being a racer I'd like something with a bit of performance but that may not be wise in a bluewater boat. A fair bit of the trip will be singlehanded but I intend to bring crew for the transat and some other long legs.

I will have €50,000 to €80,000 to spend on a boat and there are two standout boats that interest me at the moment. The Oyster 39 and the Trident Warrior 40. Also, some of the early Jeanneaus and Elans look okay.

One issue I find with a lot of cruising boats is that the cockpit is small and shallow and I think that a good long distance cruiser should have a good sized cockpit as a lot of time will be spent there.

I've followed a lot of the YouTubers like La Vagabonde and Chase the Story but I'd like more information on the planning, boat selection, route planning, what to bring, what equipment I need, etc, etc.