Carbon parts - how to?

luminary

Anarchist
Hi,

I am an amateur boat builder (plywood and 2x1 stage) and would like some advice/pointers on how to create simple -> complex carbon parts. To start with I am thinking it would be good to help my son make a deck for his skateboard so that I can experiment with techniques. I will then use this experience to make the parts necessary for the REVOLUTIONARY dinghy I have under construction.

If you have any links or advice/tips on this, I'd appreciate the info.

Cheers

l

Dick Ishuge

Hi,
I am an amateur boat builder (plywood and 2x1 stage) and would like some advice/pointers on how to create simple -> complex carbon parts. To start with I am thinking it would be good to help my son make a deck for his skateboard so that I can experiment with techniques. I will then use this experience to make the parts necessary for the REVOLUTIONARY dinghy I have under construction.

Cheers

l
its another revolution :lol: :lol:

luminary

Anarchist
Hi,

Cheers

l
its another revolution :lol: :lol:
whats the simley for tongue in cheek.

If I ever get around to finishing the boat I will post pictures of it sailing (assuming that it doesnt sink, fall apart, and actually functions as expected). It is the antithesis of Dougie's revolution.

Thought I'd get a reaction from the wags on here with that adjective. :)

luminary

Anarchist
Hi,

Cheers

l
I should add, what I am looking for is simple advice on constructing a shape like a skateboard deck. I currently plan to shape from a block of foam and wrap with cloth and resin. What I dont know is how to get the sexy gloss finish with the carbon cloth nicely laid on the board. This is particularly the case if the shape being created has any concavities.

In the past the best solution I have found is to wrap GladWrap around the piece then put in a 'sponge vice'. All very amateur I'm afraid.

there must be a better way.

BalticBandit

Super Anarchist
Hi,

Cheers

l