In the recent Verve Cup Off shore Regatta in Chicago, The Race committee finish boat was at the wrong location per the sailing Instructions. Now the dilemma, do you go to the SI coordinates for the finish or go to the finish boat with the finish signal flag flying? The protest ruling was, you go to the SI coordinates for the finish and record your own finish time.
If a Race Committee screws up this badly, shouldn't they buy you drinks?
If you do a Chicago Regatta, be prepared for anything, it is like the wild [email protected]!
The skippers and crews who failed to sail the course should withdraw. Any delay only serves to increase the shame and total lack of honor. If the RC determines the race was unfair the RC should acknowledged the issue or flaw and abandon the race. It seems we have guilty parties on both sides who cannot come to grips with their own failure to execute the SI and the course in this case. Failing to finish no matter how it happened is materially the same action as rounding the wrong weather mark. When you realize your error you withdraw on your own accord.