No, you get red over red "not under command" or green over green that is a dredge or minesweeper or something.I’ll chime in on that. I hate the stupid regs that say one or the other. I hate tricolors for the exact reason that you can’t sort out what you’re dealing with on a foggy night. I also hate deck lights because A-Syms block them. Most of all, I hate that it’s against the rules to use both which would just solve the damned problem.
If you want legal lights, use your deck lights and then red over green at the masthead. I never use my tricolor except in open ocean, I discovered that the local powerboaters NEVER look up.
Speaking of, I would love a source of red over green lights.