conversation starter

chester

Super Anarchist
yer "prolific"!   :D

bitter sweet the inclusion of several ontario built boats...RIP canadian boat building.

Steam Flyer

Super Anarchist
Eastern NC
Here's CRUISING WORLD's updated 2019 list of 40 best cruising boats. I like it. Figured you CA guys neeeded something new to talk about.

https://www.cruisingworld.com/sailboats/40-best-sailboats/
The Moore 24 is the 40th all-time best CRUISING boat ever? I want some of what they're smoking... no wait, I gotta drive home...

This list primarily reminds me what an old fogey I am, I have no knowledge whatever of the ten newest boats on the list. Very interesting range of types and configurations though.

FB- Doug

slap

Super Anarchist
I had a Pearson Vanguard for many years.  I would not have put it on that list.  I now have a J/32 - a far, far better boat.

Running joke with my wife is that since the J/32 is a couple of inches shorter than the Vanguard, I've downsized.

SemiSalt

Super Anarchist
WLIS
I had a Pearson Vanguard for many years.  I would not have put it on that list.  I now have a J/32 - a far, far better boat.

Running joke with my wife is that since the J/32 is a couple of inches shorter than the Vanguard, I've downsized.
I talked to a Vanguard owner who disagreed with the notion it had rugged construction.  In his view, it was designed as a LIS raceboat.

Last edited by a moderator:
I talked to a Vanguard owner who disagreed with the notion it had rugged construction.  In his view, it was designed as a LIS raceboat.
Rugged and good sailing capabilites are not synonomous.  I had a CCA design and quickly realized I did not like sailing at a 25% heel all the time, nocking my head and wanted to go to windward once in awhile and so I jumped ship.

But if yer dollars are sparse and ya wanna get out there.  There ya go!

slap

Super Anarchist