Daysailer for old people v 2.0

Bristol-Cruiser

Super Anarchist
Great Lakes
OK, I have read the other DFOF thread but my circumstances are somewhat different. First off, the boat is for me, turning 73 soon, and not for my father would be 120 and not sailing much. I am on Lake Ontario and member of yacht club where I would keep the boat. We have a hoist but I would keep it in the water for the sake of simplicity. I have been sailing for more than 50 years mainly cruising including a circumnavigation and some beer can racing. Just want a boat to take for a casual sail but I want something well-suited to the light airs we get in most of our short summers. Also don't want to spend too much so I won't feel guilty if we head off for and travel in the summer, eg we were going to Western China and Tibet in 2020 until COVID. So boats like Alerion 28s are too costly. Would like a boat that does not require too much string pulling and extra weight on the rail since I would singlehanded a lot and just want to sail.

Boats I am considering with comments:

• Harbor 20 - seems like easy sailing; would be nice to have a Porta Potti (wait until you are in your 70s you will know) but could take a bucket or cross my knees. How is it in really light airs, say 4 to 8 knots>
  • Ultimate 20 - seem to sail pretty well and do have a (sort-of) interior. Could you sail main only if the wind gets up?
  • J 27 - if I could find one that was not 'rode hard and put away wet'. Might add a Hoyt Jib Boom
  • J70/J80 - Are these just too much boat for the intended purpose? Which would be better?
  • Etchells 22 - Modify one as has been done a few times. I have a friend who is a very skilled woodworker who would love the challenge. Would greatly decrease the number of strings to be pulled. Raced a few times on one a million years ago and it looked like a cordage factory.
  • Nonsuch 22 - Pleasant little boats but not particularly good in light stuff and much heavier than any of the others.