Fastnet 2021

jonas a

Super Anarchist
Alex and the HB team have always been open about saying the boat was never designed with any fucks given towards non Vendee conditions. 
It's all quite well laid out in this article from two years ago. 

https://www.tipandshaft.com/en/imoca-en/quentin-lucet-on-hugo-boss-we-focused-on-hydrodynamic-drag

HB hasn't benefitted from the gain in upwind performance like the other boats with the same gen foils. 

Eg Charal has a similar hull, but totally different foils. 

 

Arjen

New member
Have to leave the Fastnet TSS to port in both directions
From the sailing instructions and for the discussion:

16.1 A boat shall not enter an area designated as an Obstruction when racing – See Appendix A.
16.2 All Traffic Separation Schemes (TSS) are designated as Obstructions.


https://www.rolexfastnetrace.com/downloads/2021_docs/rorc_fastnet_sailing_instructions_web.pdf

I have read and searched the document and nowhere does it say that a boat shall pass an obstruction on the side or keep it to a side as indicated in Appendix B in the notes. It is implied, but there is no explicit text in Appendix B or else where in sailing instructions that you have to keep it to port. You may even well round the rock the other way around. It is implied, but not explicitly written that you should keep it to port.

Might as well have been just have been an advise to sailors.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
From the sailing instructions and for the discussion:

16.1 A boat shall not enter an area designated as an Obstruction when racing – See Appendix A.
16.2 All Traffic Separation Schemes (TSS) are designated as Obstructions.


https://www.rolexfastnetrace.com/downloads/2021_docs/rorc_fastnet_sailing_instructions_web.pdf

I have read and searched the document and nowhere does it say that a boat shall pass an obstruction on the side indicated in Appendix B in the notes. It is implied, but there is no explicit text in Appendix B or else where in sailing instructions that you have to keep it to port. You may even well round the rock the other way around. It is implied, but not explicitly written that you should keep it to port.

Might as well have been an advise to sailors.
By that interpretation, sailing the course is voluntary. The course is defined in the SI, including marks, roundings, TSSs and if to port or starboard. Does the absence of “shall” (if it is absent) mean it is all voluntary, and you could instead sail straight to Cherbourg for the win? I don’t think anyone is going to have any luck selling that.

Salter is a lawyer and all that implies, but even if Rambler was following this far-fetched logic, they wouldn’t have bothered going all the way to the Fastnet rock.

So far, the best explanation appears to be that they screwed the pooch.

 

Presuming Ed

Super Anarchist
11,028
190
London, UK
From the sailing instructions and for the discussion:

16.1 A boat shall not enter an area designated as an Obstruction when racing – See Appendix A.
16.2 All Traffic Separation Schemes (TSS) are designated as Obstructions.


https://www.rolexfastnetrace.com/downloads/2021_docs/rorc_fastnet_sailing_instructions_web.pdf

I have read and searched the document and nowhere does it say that a boat shall pass an obstruction on the side indicated in Appendix B in the notes. It is implied, but there is no explicit text in Appendix B or else where in sailing instructions that you have to keep it to port. You may even well round the rock the other way around. It is implied, but not explicitly written that you should keep it to port.

Might as well have been an advise to sailors.
645CC1D6-D79B-44E6-90F6-E0982090A9C3.jpeg
RRS:

93FD4F05-F515-4F56-B388-7D705C337FC8.jpeg 9C612E26-D961-405D-BF7B-1F97A006E33E.jpeg

 
Last edited by a moderator:

Arjen

New member
By that interpretation, sailing the course is voluntary.
Well see rule 18

18 FASTNET ROCK ROUNDING TIMES
18.1 Every boat shall record the time (BST) on the Declaration Form when
the Fastnet light bears 180 degrees
magnetic and report it by text message or email.


It is explicitly mentioned in the sailing instructions to round the rock and at least declare the fact that you were exactly north of it.

 

Matagi

Ambassador of the Republic of R'lyeh
From the sailing instructions and for the discussion:

16.1 A boat shall not enter an area designated as an Obstruction when racing – See Appendix A.
16.2 All Traffic Separation Schemes (TSS) are designated as Obstructions.


https://www.rolexfastnetrace.com/downloads/2021_docs/rorc_fastnet_sailing_instructions_web.pdf

I have read and searched the document and nowhere does it say that a boat shall pass an obstruction on the side or keep it to a side as indicated in Appendix B in the notes. It is implied, but there is no explicit text in Appendix B or else where in sailing instructions that you have to keep it to port. You may even well round the rock the other way around. It is implied, but not explicitly written that you should keep it to port.

Might as well have been just have been an advise to sailors.
Did you read the Appendix?

 
It's difficult to tell for sure, but looking at the tracks, it looks like virtually all of the boats took the entire Fastnet TSS to port (although a few seemed to have strayed into it at once rounded).  I can't find another boat that is still competing that took the Fastnet TSS to starboard.

 

jimmyuk81

Member
65
68
UK
I genuinely can’t believe they got that wrong. Would be an embarrassing fuckup for a tailender in IRC4, but for an outfit like Rambler… wow.  :blink:

 

Latest posts




Top