G10 for chainplates?

In a new build of a small daysailer, I’m contemplating using G10 for chainplates and other anchors for rigging loads.  

The published tensile strength is about 40,000 PSI, about half that of stainless, so they’d be bulkier, but bonding into structure could be cleaner.

Ideas?  Alternatives?

SloopJonB

Super Anarchist
Great Wet North
IIRC the Carbon Cutters had carbon chains so I can't see glass being a problem on a small boat.

I think I'd want some sort of sleeving for the pins to ride in though.

kevinjones16

Seattle
I used 1/4 inch G10 as backing plates. It's pretty stout. I'm no engineer, but I'd guess a properly designed and installed G10 fitting would be fine. Just like those parts on Perry's carbon cutters. 

The holes in the g10 would certainly be abrasive.  Can’t think of what material for sleeves would be good.  Periodically replacing pins would do, but be inelegant.

ExOmo

Best Anarchist Ever
The Great Void
G10 is probably not the best choice for tensile applications with small edge distances.  Standard rigging etc. sort of assumes a standard metallic thickness/hole edge distance.   It might mean that adapters (probably metallic) would be needed to connect your beefed up G10 chainplates to off the shelf standing rigging hardware.   Have fun.

12 metre

Super Anarchist
English Bay
If you want cheap, quick, and simple, stainless is hard to beat, but if you want composite then I would definitely fab up some carbon ones instead of using G10.
Even cheaper use regular UD E Glass.  Carbon is probably overkill for a daysailor.

The section itself doesn't have to be very large in cross sectional area, even for E Glass.  Tensile strength isn't typically the limiting factor for composite chainplates.  Lap shear is usually more important, and I think there was a thread on Boatdesign.net about this and someone with far more knowledge than I suggested to assume a lap shear strength of 15 MPa (2,200 psi) for epoxy.