Hello Stress Engineers

Need some opinion.

On 8/25 we pulled our boat to prepare for the race inspected the hull and bottom - no issues.

On 9/19 a boat hit us straight on.  The force was mostly on the top side of boat, the bow pulpit was ripped off and the fiberglass broken on deck.   The carbon fiber spinnaker pole which sticks out a bit to starboard was snapped where it met the pulpit front leg.  When we pulled the boat, we noticed a cracks on front left and right side of hull near the boot stripe.   Any structural or stress Engineers out there who could explain to the insurance company why these cracks were produced?  They refuse to pay for repair.  So far I have not received $.01 for the insurance company of boat who hit us.  Thanks for the analysis.

Here is a quick video of impact:

Here are photos of the area where cracks were found:

A2.PNG
A1.PNG

See Level

Working to overcome my inner peace
I'm no engineer but you can see your whole bow flex aft in the collision, maybe it fractured at hinge point of the flex at the lower end hard pointed by the v shape.

Last edited by a moderator:

longy

Overlord of Anarchy
San Diego
  Stepping thru the vid slowly - there is no contact down by the boot stripe. Both boats have flare in the bows, first contact was bow pulpits, then pulpit against H/S, then protruding pole, then it's obscured, but may have had hull to hull contact about 5-8" down from sheer on your boat. Your bow is by far the strongest part of your boat due to the angles as the hull pinches out.

So very unlikely the crash was solely responsible for the cracks. Just how big were they before the grinder attach? And have they disappeared in the ground out saucers shown?

Rasputin22

Rasputin22
Better to just take up drinking in the evening like the rest of NO. ADD was living up to its name, not paying attention! Good to see that expensive MacGregor escape the carnage.