How on earth do I get my foot in the door for deliveries

Bowchow

Anarchist
Good morning guys. I'm a young kid looking for some guidance (Jobs would be sweet too!!) in the subject of delivering sailboats. I'm 22, sailing my whole life and racing for 12, coaching for 6, yadda yadda. Just recently, I got my Master Captains license and all the various courses needed to go with it (Sail, tow, stcw etc).

Ideally,I would like to do races (Newport-bermuda) etc and then do the delivery back as well, or only the delivery, or deliveries up and down the east coast, etc. Basically, I'm at my wits end with coaching kids and wish to move onto something a little more...... long term.

I've done a few small deliveries on boats I've raced on, but nothing serious. I have some offshore experience, but am definitely looking to gain more.

I've checked the classifieds on here, along with the crew board, and of course craigslist. I'm currently in Miami but definitely willing to travel.

Any suggestions anyone can offer would be much appreciated!!

Cheers

N

Last edited by a moderator:
Get involved with "real" race teams. The guys with the big dollar budgets that travel. Hang out at boat yards offering to do the shit work. Make friends. The community is small and everyone knows everyone. Personally i didn't go full bore into it like i thought i might at one time, but the connections i gained still surprise me. In December head up to Liquordale and see what raceboats are in town and start trying to make connections. SA is a decent place too - i once got a wetsanding gig through here that put a nice chunk of change in my pocket and i got to learn a bit about how race boats go together.

Don;t hate on coaching, though. I guarentee you will miss it when you give up all hope of being a BC and sit at a desk ten or eleven hours a day...

Wreck™

Wreck™
40N 75W