layout for headsail track- sm. cruising cat

Hunky

NW Alaska
I'm building a 30' catamaran and am starting to lay out the deck hardware. I'm a beginner when it comes to sailing.. have spent some time on monohulls - but don't have a good understanding of the fine points of sailing, yet. This boat is a KHSD design and I've modified it by putting a cabin on the otherwise open deck for the northern waters (Bering Sea) shelter. So I'm trying to layout the track for the headsail and am stumped. It seems Kurt is pretty easy going on how it is done in this case.. but before I start drilling I hope to get some direction.

So halyards and sheets from the mast will be routed around the cabin and to a winch either side via deck organizers. I would want to limit it to one with the thinking that the more bends you put the lines the more force required.. but I don't really know if that is much of an issue. Two organizers per side would be neat and tidy if the track were oriented pointing towards the furler. Another similar build on this design (from which I stole his cabin idea) has the track vertical to the fore and aft centerline and says it worked fine for him. I'll put up a couple pics to show what I have. Right now I have 4 tracks.. 2 are 36" long and 2 are 32" long. I expect if I did something like the first photo I could cut them down in length. Perhaps I only need one if doing something like the second pic. The sticks just represent approximate routing of lines from rotating mast.

Hoping for some thoughts on this to get me off my impasse. Won't be racing likely, just learning the boat and exploring around the area.

img_0001.jpg

img_0001_01.jpg

Zonker

Super Anarchist
Canada
So halyards and sheets from the mast will be routed around the cabin and to a winch either side via deck organizers. I would want to limit it to one with the thinking that the more bends you put the lines the more force required..