Life Vests?

Roam

I'm hoping to start dinghy sailing soon and was wondering what sort of life vests you would recommend. As a noob I admit to knowing nothing but I expect I would want something low profile that didn't restrict movement. Starting off I'll be mostly sailing on the Potomac river.

Thanks,

Hugh

Roam

I'm a decent swimmer, I used to be a strong swimmer but I'm older and more well rounded then I used to be. ;)

I'd like to get vests not just for myself about also for friends and family.

I'll look into the Neil Pryde.

thanks,

Hugh

Claire1000

Anarchist
Waco, TX
I am a strong swimmer. On a dinghy I wear a vest unless the wind is almost nothing. Once somebody gets hit by a boom and drowns next to you, it takes that off the life jacket not wearing thought table. Just wear the vest. Yes it's slightly hot and slightly uncomfortable. Wear the vest. 

I am a strong swimmer. On a dinghy I wear a vest unless the wind is almost nothing. Once somebody gets hit by a boom and drowns next to you, it takes that off the life jacket not wearing thought table. Just wear the vest. Yes it's slightly hot and slightly uncomfortable. Wear the vest. 
Or, if that doesn't do it for you, I wear a PFD when dinghy sailing because I want the extra buoyancy for when I capsize.  It makes it easier to do things in the water (uncleat lines, whatever), without the extra effort of having to also tread water while you're doing it.

Gouvernail

Lottsa people don’t know I’m famous
Austin Texas
I found a nifty fisherman's vest at Walmart for $25. The thing has huge arm holes for easy movement and lots of pockets for munchies, gloves, drain plug, cell phone in a waterproof case in triple zip lock bags , sailing instructions, sunscreen, feces to throw at landt....

even little water bottles might fit but I carry  water on a bungee in the cockpit. 

blastoff

There are some good kayaking branded ones.