Needing good shoes

Looking to pick up a new pair of good boat shoes for racing primarily. I often do a lot of bow work so good grip and lightweight is essential. Have mostly used Sperry in the past but anything I have is worn out. Suggestions from any other racers who tend to wear out gear? 

G

You dont need "sailor shoes"  go to the sports section of your local shoe store and get something with soft soles

MPH

Super Anarchist
NW
Just get some relatively lightweight running shoes with a soft sole like the Nike Free or ASIC whatever’s...

Last edited by a moderator:

surf nazi

Super Anarchist
Just get some relatively lightweight running shoes with a soft sole like the Nike Free or ASIC whatever’s...
wrong. running shoes do not have good traction on wet fiberglass nor are they made with side loads in mind. Court shoes ( tennis, basketball,)work but not as well as a good boat shoe. I have been using the zhik shoes that look like vans for a few years and I've been very happy. they are a neoprene material so work well in the wet and are the grippiest shoe I have ever worn.   

bloodshot

Super Anarchist
United States
I had a pair of Zhiks and loved them.  super grippy and lightweight.  I didn't find them terribly durable so I switched over the Adidas.  Still very good, but the fit isn't as glove like as the Zhiks as the Adidas so I don't feel as stable on the bow.  Next pair will likely be the Zhiks (in retrospect, the durability is fine...I'm just tough on shoes.

MPH

Super Anarchist
NW
wrong. running shoes do not have good traction on wet fiberglass nor are they made with side loads in mind. Court shoes ( tennis, basketball,)work but not as well as a good boat shoe. I have been using the zhik shoes that look like vans for a few years and I've been very happy. they are a neoprene material so work well in the wet and are the grippiest shoe I have ever worn.