Paywall free news sources of value?

Windward

Super Anarchist
Having a lively debate during the Covid quarantine about USA and world politics, and I've become quite disillusioned with the news sources at my disposal.

CNN and Fox seem more like infotainment/pandering.  CNN is particularly bad as it fails to report anything not helping their agenda.

Aljazeera 

BBC

SailingAnarchy

What are some news outlets that cover both sides of a debate, or just report the goings-on.  Sure, all will have a tilt to their readership to sell adverts, but there have to be some better ones out there somewhere.

Navig8tor

Super Anarchist
Reuter’s, AP, Guardian (would like you to pay but you can still read most) AXIOS Independant, some of the best news about the states is rather ironically from outside the states.

DustyDreamer

Anarchist
Wait, yer thinking that news outlets don't have agendas, universally? As a former journalist, I hate to break it to ya... there is no such thing as objectivity in journalism. Never has been never will be. So pick the flavor you like most but balance it out with other opinons perspectives. 

I read regularly: NY Times, Wapo, The Atlantic, Politico, The Intercept among others. I try to balance it by reading RWNJ sources to the degree they make any sense. Reason is very occasionally a good counter. 

Edit: you'll note I disregarded the paywall thing. Delete your cookies and/or use incognito mode. They are generally easy to bypass.

Last edited by a moderator:

Navig8tor

Super Anarchist
Reason is very occasionally a good counter. 
That’s where you lose the hard right, being spoon fed “reason“ by right wing nut jobs means it’s a skill not often employed by individuals, unless of course it’s a conspiracy theory.

Sol Rosenberg

Girthy Member
Earth