Rule expert needed - aisle A

floater

Super Duper Anarchist
quivira regnum
One of the top tier A Class developer/builders just went public with a - potentially - game changing reading of a class rule.

I'm no expert, but as I understand it rule 8.2 attempts to limit dagger foil geometry by prohibiting "insert from below". Ostensibly this was done to outlaw moth style T foils - but has more recently inhibited AC72 style L foils as well.

I post this here for a few reasons:

- they're getting kind of grumpy over there in the multihull forum

- it is AC related as TNZ went A Class big time at last year's worlds - Outteridge there too

- there are plenty of seasoned rule interpretation experts hereabout with nothing better to do. :)

Apparently - the entire fleet could be exploded by the lack of a single conjunction! Foiling class DNA is at risk - so please weigh in if you have something to add.

Dario Valenza has pushed the button:

only appendages that are movable AND retractable come under Rule 8.2. Ones that move but dont retract need not comply with 8.2. So there is no need to worry about how the appendages are inserted.
...reads like an America's Cup controversy.

http://www.a-cat.org/?q=node/474

~Stingray~~

Super Anarchist
"only appendages that are movable AND retractable come under Rule 8.2."

Here's hoping Dario is right! :)

It is taking the AC a full cycle to get foiling rules right, hopefully the A rule has a loophole big enough to avoid the same kind of restriction corner.

Last edited by a moderator:

dogwatch

Super Anarchist
South Coast, UK
No it's the direct opposite. It's about maintaining development and practicality for a class of sailors who mostly sign their own cheques and it's clear those outside the class have little of value to say. Which includes me.

Really doesn't need another thread here.

Tornado-Cat

Super Anarchist
Tornado-Cat said:
Simon claims Isaf interprets it differently, if yes where is the interpretation ?