In theory hoisting the general recall due to a competitor error (hooking the pin) rather than an error in the starting procedure would be an error on the part of the RC. If all the boats started cleanly and the RC can identify which boat was over, they should let the start proceed. If the line was skewed 60 degrees to port in the final minute then a GR may in some cases be justified.
I said
... if I want to pull this race back ...
I agree I wouldn't want to abandon or GR if all but the OCS boat and the one hooked up on the mark started ok.
Rule 29.2 doesn’t talk about whether its a competitor error or a race committee error: it just refers to an error in the starting procedure.
OK, suppose it comes to a redress hearing and suppose the protest committee concludes that signalling GR was an improper action. What boat's score or place has been made significantly worse? None. No boat is entitled to redress.