Who replace Stolen Laptop

Crank Boy

Super Anarchist
Friend of mine is in sales, works for a small company and has a laptop that is company's property. He goes in to have a beer with a customer, leaves laptop in car, and laptop is vicitim of a smash and grab in the restaurant parking lot.

The company wants him to turn it in to his homeowner's insurance along with billable time to have IT guys set up the new laptop. The company offers to pay the deductible.

I have no real experience in this area. What do you guys think? COmpany pay for the new laptop or he is responsible for it?

Crank Boy

Super Anarchist
right, kinda my thoughts. mine always goes in my trunk, no matter what.

his defense: SUV, no trunk, in briefcase on floorboard.

i think he would be willing to reach a settlement, the "billable time" thing for the IT guys really irks him though.

stripclubjunkie

Super Anarchist
LA LA Land
I was the IT guy at one time that had to deal with this shit. Company property, company problem and should be covered by THEIR insurance. Billable time to set up - WTF, maybe in government contracting, but not at a small shop - that's horse shit. Sometimes auto ins will pick it up under the comprehensive but not that often and then it would go down to homeowners/renters, but more often than not, the company just eats it. What if the guy has no house or renters policy..?? He was on the company clock (unless he was a commissioned rep) so their problem. The employee time is a fuckload more valuable than the 2k for a top of the line laptop, especially if there was any depreciation time on it - it's basically worthless as a financial asset after about a year (cost-depreciation-actual street residual value) - just buy a new one, write off the loss and be done with it. If they are that cheap, time for your bud to find a new shop....

Last edited by a moderator:

U20guy2

Super Anarchist